Review + Giveaway: Waking the Witch (Women of the Otherworld #11) – Small town, big problems!

WAKING the Witch kelley armstrong

Review

Oh the shock. I must confess that I’d never before read a novel by Kelley Armstrong. Though I’d heard about her often and saw her books on the shelves, I just never got around to her stuff. But now I understand what I was missing.

Waking the Witch is my first foray into the Women of the Otherworld series. The central character is Savannah Levine, an orphaned but proud and skilled dark witch. She must put her abilities to the test as a Private Investigator, looking into a string of peculiar murders in the small town of Columbus, Washington. Only to the supernaturally trained eye can we see that there’s a little more than foul play involved. And it will take a member of the otherworld to catch this serial killer. But Savannah must watch her back as she makes herself a target as well as those whom she holds dear.

One of the qualities I enjoyed about this was how easy to is to become immersed in the book. I thought the balance of mystery and magic was handled well. If you removed the magic elements, it would make for a pretty fascinating mystery and suspense novel. But because I love all things paranormal, the magic makes it even more interesting. Though I hadn’t read a prior novel, it wasn’t necessary to enjoy this particular story; yet I do want to go back and read the prior novels at some point. I get OCD like that sometimes, but I really like Armstrong’s writing.

For a long time Savannah’s been carrying a torch for her friend Adam, but her feelings have gone unreciprocated. I really liked their moments as friends, and found this to be an interesting approach to build a love story. The only potential problem is that really do feel like friends to me aside from her internal monologue desiring more. I think they need a little more romantic chemistry for me to buy them as a couple, but I want to see how this is resolved.

Serving as an introduction to bigger problems, this book isn’t necessarily a cliff hanger, but the story ends making it very obvious that there is more in store for the next one. And I will certainly read it right after this.

*Review copy provided by publisher

Giveaway

I am collecting entries through June 25, 2012.  I will announce the winners on Tuesday, June 26, 2012.

How to Enter (PLEASE READ CAREFULLY): My giveaways are only open to followers of Your Urban Fantasy who are 18 years of age or older. In order to enter YOU MUST COMMENT ON THE ANNOUNCEMENT POST! If you’re a new member, sign up on the right panel to follow my blog via email and/or Twitter. (Make sure you check your email to confirm your subscription. You should receive a notification immediately, so check your spam folder if you don’t see it right away). Current followers can just say so in their post and your entry will be added. Overall, there are up to 3 chances to win:

  1. Follow this blog via email (THIS IS REQUIRED)
  2. Follow me on Twitter (bonus entry)
  3. “Like” Your Urban Fantasy on Facebook (bonus entry)

While I do appreciate RSS subscribers, I cannot confirm your status as a follower so your entry will not count (sorry!); however, you are welcome to sign up by email and Twitter or Facebook. Good luck!

37 responses

  1. Jenni Ebba

    I am happy you enjoyed one of Kelley Armstrong’s latest in this series. I haven’t picked this one up yet, but all the others were great reads.

    June 20, 2012 at 9:13 PM

  2. Laura Johnson

    Kelley Armstrong is one of my favourite paranormal authors. I am glad that you have discovered her. Savannah is wicked cool.

    I am a follower of the blog and I liked the page on facebook.

    June 21, 2012 at 12:36 PM

  3. Yaay, so excited.
    Email follower: autumnflower6ATaolDOTcom
    Liked on FB: Jennifer Bielman
    Twitter follower: @JenniferBielman

    June 22, 2012 at 7:51 PM

  4. teri C

    Oh I cannot wait for this one. This series has been fabulous over the years.
    FB Teri Hack
    Twit @TeriCrusley
    Reader follower Terli

    June 22, 2012 at 9:12 PM

  5. I have a couple of Kelley Armstrong books but I have yet to read them. Your review is giving me a much needed push.

    email follower- wulfgirl76(at)gmail(dot)com
    Facebook- Brittany Weaver

    June 23, 2012 at 5:59 PM

  6. Love the review and the giveaway =) i´ve had this series on my TBR list, forever.

    best wishes & Happy Monday!
    //LInda

    email fr_larsson@hotmail.com
    twitter fr_larsson and FB Linda Larsson

    June 25, 2012 at 3:32 PM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,013 other followers

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 51,517 hits
